PDA

View Full Version : Finale 2006d and Kontakt player



crewman76
07-07-2006, 02:55 PM
when i open a finale file with the instrumentation: Trpt, sax and rhythm section, after the Garritan patch loads automatically the trpt & sax will not sound. I have to toggle the "mode wheel" first, then they'll sound. What do I need to fix/adjust to fix this problem?

Jeff Turner
07-07-2006, 03:03 PM
Have you assigned a dynamic level marking so Finale knows what volume to play at?

JT

crewman76
07-07-2006, 03:16 PM
no i have not. do you mean just give each instrument it's own dynamic?

crewman76
07-07-2006, 03:22 PM
i gave the horns a dynamic marking, however, it still doesn't work. i still have to toggle the mode wheel to get the volume on the trpt and alto.

crewman76
07-07-2006, 03:46 PM
another question: is it possible to have several finale files(scores) open at once and NOT have the program reload the Garritan patch each time i switch between tunes?

Nickie Fønshauge
07-07-2006, 05:55 PM
another question: is it possible to have several finale files(scores) open at once and NOT have the program reload the Garritan patch each time i switch between tunes?
Yes, if you update to revision "b" or "c". In these revisions instruments are not loaded until you play them or select VST setup.

Nickie Fønshauge
07-07-2006, 06:01 PM
i gave the horns a dynamic marking, however, it still doesn't work. i still have to toggle the mode wheel to get the volume on the trpt and alto.
For each staff you will have to touch the mod wheel (or MIDI menu | send MIDI | CC#1 > 0 to all channels) until Human Playback has played the first note in the staff. When the first note is played, a CC#1 (modwheel) message is sent.

crewman76
07-07-2006, 06:02 PM
Thanks for the reply, however, I just realized I phrased the question wrong.
what I want is to have the garritan instrument patches STAY LOADED as I switch between the files. Any thoughts?

Nickie Fønshauge
07-07-2006, 06:16 PM
Not possible.