• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: GPO or EWQL for 'beginner'?

Share/Bookmark

GPO or EWQL for \'beginner\'?

Hello,

I have been making music strictly by ear for 14 years using guitars, drum machines, synthesizers, etc. I\'ve recently become more interested in orchestral composing and have been checking the latest full orchestra sample libraries. I need to start out small, so I\'m looking at the GPO and the EWQL (Silver) to start out with. Which one might be better for someone in my position? I\'ve had a lot of fun in the past using looped orchestral samples but want to attain a richer and more accurate sound. Thanks in advance for any advice or help.

Chris Rimby

ps Laptop compatibility is important too...I will be traveling a lot this winter.

Re: GPO or EWQL for \'beginner\'?

Do you currently have a sequencer program? What kind of music do you do or would like to try? Just a couple questions to ask yourself. If you don\'t have a sequencer or notation program, then GPO would be the way to go as these are included with the library. The library was designed for students and hobbyists just getting into MIDI orchestrations and for professionals who want a quick sketch pad.

Unfortunately, there\'s no demos of the QLSO Silver as of yet to get an idea of what the library is capable of. More demos for GPO will be posted soon.

GPO and/or QLSO Silver should be great for your needs. Too bad we don\'t have the Silver demos and details just yet. I\'m going to wait a bit more before I choose which one I\'ll get first.

For my evaluation, I\'ll be looking at the holes in my libraries, and I\'ll judge those instrument sounds most critically. Imagine which will be your go-to instruments, and do the same.