• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: New VSL Saxophones 1 demo posted

Share/Bookmark

New VSL Saxophones 1 demo posted

For those who are interested a demo of the new VSL Saxophones 1 has been posted here:

http://www.vsl.co.at/english/pages/profile/news/product_news.htm

Ben H

Re: New VSL Saxophones 1 demo posted

i\'m a saxophoneplayer myself, and i am no native english-speaker, as you guessed already. what i hear in this demo is sometimes convincing, sometimes i want to know, how they get it. i am new to this sampling thing, but for a composer like me, i see possibilities for my recordings which are - as i posted - interesting.

These saxes sound amazingly real to me!

Very impressive!

Kip McGinnis
    Bardstown Audio
    www.bardstownaudio.com

I didn\'t see any \'phrases\' in the articulation list.

Sounded way better, by a million miles, than any sampled saxes I\'ve heard. The runs were terrific and I really liked the soprano tone.

Good price too.

Where\'s the concert guitar? I wanna hear it!

\"sometimes i want to know, how they get it. i am new to this sampling thing, but for a composer like me, i see possibilities for my recordings which are - as i posted - interesting.\"

There are not alot of phrases with the VSL technique. The main cool thing, esepecially for saxes is the legato tool. They record each and every glide from 1/2 step to octave, up & down, to and from each note and at a couple of volume levels. Then, the legato tool seamlessly glues it all together in real time as you play. You hold down one note, then another while holding the first note, and the sample seems to glide to the second note. The sample is switched automatically by the tool. As to phrases, they might record a bunch of runs up & down to and from each note perhaps and some repetitions.

A good potential articulations list might go something like this

Long Notes, several velocities, Vibrato & non vibrato