• Register
  • Help

Topic: Reaper

Hello all.

I recently downloaded the newest version. Reaper is complex and completely unintuitive. Be that as it may, I loaded in EWQL Platinum Plus's one of VL11 legato patches. The violins sounded MUCH better than in SONAR. Far less brittle, far less strident, etc, etc. I haven't used ANY correcting FX (such as EQ or compressor, etc).

Did any of you have a similar experience when changing sequencers? I may be tempted to learn everything about Reaper just for the sake of better sound quality in mixing/rendering high strings.

Thanks, Sylva.

Re: Reaper

I'm not a technical expert, but everything I've heard about this subject (how your music sounds on different sequencers) has been that it makes no difference, The difference you're hearing has to be due to other factors. For example, when you loaded up the instruments in Reaper, you're getting a "pure" instance of that instrument, with no panning, volume corrections, etc. I recently had to reload a Play synth, due to accidentally deleting all the instruments, and it sounded better. The strings groups were suddenly more balanced. I believe this was due to the fact that the volumes were preset to be in perfect balance with each other. Then I remembered seeing a post somewhere which said that you should not change the volume setting on the synth. If you do, the balance between the string groups will be destroyed. Makes sense, when you consider that East Wets recorded them in actual position. So the string group as a whole is balanced when you load the individual sections. Any volume adjustments should only be done on your sequencer. But every attempt must be made to preserve this native balance, otherwise everything will be out of whack.
    michael diemer