• Register
  • Help

Topic: Marinated Thunder

Share/Bookmark

Marinated Thunder

Caution: The mp3 gets quite loud.

Not likely that you have heard such a thing before, but then again, perhaps you have.Very vigorous and driving, as much of my work is. The three short movements are mf, f, and ff.

Marinated Thunder

Richard

Re: Marinated Thunder

Richard,

Thanks for the warning on the dynamics. I had headphones on and I had my finger on the volume button to thwart off any incoming deafness defying frequencies.

Quite a piece. Phew, I'm exhausted and I didn't play it! As in the last piece of yours I heard, the piano solo with the 10ths in the bass (which was amazing in tonal sonority) this piece also does not disappoint. Where did you get your training for the harmonic progressions that you utilize in your compositions? School or self taught by books and ear training?

The beginning is fascinating because in many parts you have the traditional slow (long note) lines in the pedal and in one hand, while the other does this fast "Flight of the Bumble bee" type showcase in the other. I don't hear that that often in organ music which is to bad because the organ does such a good job at showing off this type of contrast between contrapuntal lines.

It really starts to rock at around minute 5 to the end. The complex rhythmic combinations are quite fun to listen to. And the ending.....oh my gosh, .....you but Beethoven to shame on this one regarding the ending of his 5th symphony. Okay it's finished, oh wait a moment, another ending phrase....okay I can rest.....oh wait... another reprise of ending cadences.....and now.....no , another cadence. Anyway, it put a big Cheshire grin on my face.

This would sound amazing in a large cathedral although the fast lines might get obliterated in the reverb wash.

Great listen Richard, thanks for the post!

Cass

Well, Cass, thank for you for your very detailed comments.