• Register
  • Help

Topic: Need advice, please

Need advice, please

I compose a lot of orchestral and chamber pieces, as well as jazz. I\'ve been using the miroslav orchestra in AKAI format imported into my EXS24 in Logic.
    I need to purchase a new library to speed up my workflow in the following ways:
    1) I spend way too much time editing the Miroslav instruments, applying key switches and other controls so that I can heighten the realism of the sounds.
    2) As I am not a pro-engineer, I spend too much time in the mixing stage experimenting with EQ and processing to make the sounds sit well in the mix. I enjoy learning while doing this, but it is too time-consuming when I have deadlines.
    So, I\'ve been looking into newer libraries that incorporate high-quality sounds with more pre-programmed, \'user-friendly\' plug-and-play articulations and controls. The 3 libraries I\'ve been researching are the VSL Horizon Opus 1, the GPO, and the QLSO.
    The problem is that I haven\'t come across enough information to make an informed decision, because these libraries are so new that reviews haven\'t yet been posted.
    What I did find out is that Horizon comes in EXS format and includes such features as the legato tool to add realism; I also read that the GPO is a self-contained library designed for ease-of use, with pre-programmed articulations and controls, though I don\'t know any more specifics because the web-site doesn\'t have info about articulations and controls yet. Finally, I found that the advantage of the QLSO is that it is also, like the GPO, self-contained with pre-programmed controls AND the sounds are pre-EQ\'d and panned, which I suppose would require less work in the mixing stage.