• Register
  • Help

Topic: Finale 2008. Should I upgrade?

Share/Bookmark

Question Finale 2008. Should I upgrade?

Long time no see!

I have been working on my first string quartet for past 2 years and at last it is completed!

Now, I am about to get into a new project, a short orchestra piece.

I currently own GPO4 but I came to know that GPO4 is not supported by Finale 2008 which I have now.

Naturally, I may upgrade Finale to 2012.

Question: Finale 2012 works well with GPO4? And I wonder why MakeMusic does not release 2013 version until August.

Any input will be appreciated. I was advised by the Finale forum to upgrade it and I wish to double check it in this familiar forum as my last and best resource of information.

Sincerely,

Jun Yamamoto
    http://homepage2.nifty.com/yamamoto_jun/e/

My current system is:

Hp Pavilion Desktop h9-1290jp
    Intel Core i7-3930
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    32 GB Memory/ 256 GB SATA SSD/2 2TB HD
    Jun Yamamoto
    Tokyo, Japan
    http://jun.music.coocan.jp/
    MIDI AND SAMPLING TECHNOLOGY HAS OPENED AN ENTIRE NEW WORLD OF MUSIC!

Re: Finale 2008. Should I upgrade?

Hi Jun:

I would think that if you want to use GPO4, you would need to upgrade to a later version of Finale. I use Finale 2011 and it works well with GPO4. I didn't upgrade to Finale 2012 because I didn't see much advantage over 2011, but I will take a close look at 2013 when it comes out. I think if you upgrade to 2012 just before 2013 comes out that 2013 would be a free upgrade, but, hey, why do that. You can wait for 2013 to come out if it isn't too long of a waiting period that would jeopardize your small orchestra project.