• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: solo string opinions

Share/Bookmark

solo string opinions

I have been producing music for almost 5 yrs not but I am a new composer in the classical genre. I have been using EW Silver for a couple weeks. I was wondering what user\'s opinions were on kirk hunter solo strings and vienna solo strings. I know vienna is a bigger library but kirk hunter\'s demos sound great. Vienna has one demo and it has an entire orchestra in the background-not very helpful. I am mainly interested in playability and realism.....and of coarse value for my dollars! Any help or opinions will be appreciated. Thanks!

Re: solo string opinions

I\'m a big fan of KHSS. I don\'t own the new VSL solo strings so I can\'t offer first hand opinions about them.

KHSS has many, many velocity layers, so the notes always sound fresh. The articulations are expressive and useful. I especially like the hrd-sus patch, since it works for fast or slow work. Exp-sus has a slower attack for more relaxed melodies. The spiccato patches are fantastic for virtuoso and aggressive styles of play. The slides, marcato, detache and other articulations complete the picture.

Both KHSS and VSL-SS require Giga or some other sampler. Both are dry and rely on your use of reverb and panning for ambience and placement.

VSL\'s advantage in theory is their legato tool. I *really* want this for high woodwinds and sax, since those are typically weak for sampled sounds. I don\'t feel that it\'s as critical here, in that KHSS can be used pretty convincingly for fast play. Listen to the demos. Your opinions may vary. I don\'t play a real violin.

The other key measure is the sound. You\'ve got to judge that for yourself.

Basically it comes down to VSL\'s legato and VSL\'s sound, and whether those are worth the extra cost to you. If you decide to go for KHSS though, you\'re still getting a world class library. You won\'t be disappointed.