• Register
  • Help

Topic: Using Recorded GPO Orchestra to Accompany a Live Choir

Share/Bookmark

Using Recorded GPO Orchestra to Accompany a Live Choir

Hello Everyone,

I just returned from an extended trip where I got to hear a very good performance of the entire multi-movement Christmas work that was the source of my contributions to the 2012 and 2013 Christmas Albums. My most recent post to the listening room also came from this work. This experience really energized me to finish and master a GPO version of the orchestra so that choirs who want to perform the piece can do so without a live orchestra. This is my first time to do this kind of project and I would appreciate all the advice I can get.

Cass and Randy mentioned keeping the recorded ambiance low because the performance hall will add its own ambiance. I think no more ambiance, or possibly a little less, than a stage would add would be OK.

There are other considerations that seem important. First, only a 2 channel stereo sound system will be practical and the choir will need to be able to hear the orchestra. If two speakers are used they will likely be set even or a little behind the choir and possibly angled towards the center. If this is done some extra stage ambiance will be added and the stereo image will be affected. I'm considering panning the harp to the middle of the orchestra because in two movements it contains important parts that will guide the choir through some tempo changes and releases. Both sides of the choir need to be able to hear these harp cues.