• Register
  • Help

Topic: Grad Student looking for feedback!

Grad Student looking for feedback!

Hello everyone! I just found out about this forum and am excited to start browsing through all the resources. I am a grad student, hoping to score film/video games/pretty much ANYTHING.

I've been making music with the computer for about 3 years now but only in the past year have I tackled orchestral music with the computer. I was hoping to get any and all opinions on this piece (both composition and production). Thank you in advance!

Re: Grad Student looking for feedback!

It starts well with the strings, the bass note comes in nicely, the oboes work well, I enjoyed the harp entry and the woodwinds with it later when it's plucking on those higher notes, and the harp is rhythimcally effective too... But then there's a sudden change! There are a few better moments later, but I personally think the change in style mid-piece is detrimental. You might call it a second theme but it's not really a theme as such. So, excellent beginning, the production is good too actually (but again in the section I don't like, overdone, too much thrashing on the percussion without syncopation). If the style of the earlier section could be applied consistently throughout, the piece would be markedly improved and, in fact, good. A different "B" section is really what it needs. Something more fitting. Anyway, please do more, music really counts for something!!

Re: Grad Student looking for feedback!