• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Volume in Logic Pro X

Share/Bookmark

Volume in Logic Pro X

Hi everybody,

I'm new to Logic Pro X (and to any DAW actually), and I can't find a way to keep the volume of a midi imported piece steady. That means:

I would want to have per track a fixed volume, so that I can use the volume slider of the mixer to mix the instruments to the general output. Now, the sliders keep moving with the expression. That makes it impossible to mix down the whole set of tracks.

The internal dynamic variations should be done by 'expression' and velocity settings (on note-to-note basis). I have a lane with the volume, but it displays all these variations (movements of the slider) per track.

The score was midi exported from Finale and midi imported in Logic Pro X. In Finale, I neutralised all parameters (pan, FX, reverb...) before exporting to midi, but somehow, volume was kept and tied to the dynamic changes in the score.

Can I delete the volume lane in Logic and rebuild it the way I want it? How should I do that?

Max

Re: Volume in Logic Pro X

You can copy volume data from this lane to expression lane, then delete the former and re-write it according to your needs.
    Sorry, no Logic at hand, but I will try make screenshots from another DAW — process is the same.
    Fabio
    Arrigo Beyle / Milanese / Lived, wrote, loved -- Stendhal
    Being Italian is a full-time job -- B. Severgnini

I'm still using Logic 9, but you could easily take the eraser tool and erase the volume info or draw it in at a level starting point.

Quote Originally Posted by fabiolcati View Post
    You can copy volume data from this lane to expression lane, then delete the former and re-write it according to your needs...