• Register
  • Help

Topic: Driving the upcoming libraries: SIBELIUS........SUPER SEQUENCER?

Share/Bookmark

Driving the upcoming libraries: SIBELIUS........SUPER SEQUENCER?

Those involved in producing large scale virtual orchestral works know that the upcoming large symphonic libraries will play a major role in their quest for true realism in their own compositions, or mockups of existing works. They also realize however, that it this represents only half the battle.

The next essential step is to be able to effectively drive the myriad of available articulations within a professional working environment, and in a fraction of the time that is now required to sequence such works. In other words, to finally stop being a slave to the programming and have the program do the programming.

I personally believe the only real candidate for such a role is Sibelius, which I have been using for several years now for the playback of symphonies, chamber works, etc. Although a few significant issues, such as midi timing adjustments, are awaiting resolution in a future update, the potential of Sibelius is outstanding due to its inherent structure and intelligence and, as such, I\'m convinced it represents the best possible solution for virtual orchestration.

For those Sibelius users interested in optimizing and enhancing the interface with GigaStudio, there is an article on the topic available as a pdf download at :

http://home.tallships.ca/island/interface.pdf

My intention with this article is to provide a framework for further discussion with people who share a similar goal in developing the Sibelius-Gigastudio interface to its absolute maximum potential.