• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Web Sites?

Web Sites?

I keep seeing all of these incredible web sites. Where do you get them made? Hosted? If you got them made? How much did it cost and where?

Re: Web Sites?

Hi Sean -

I sent you a reply to your form submission on the site - thanks for the comments.

I am a web designer by trade, so that has helped me out with the whole site/demo cd\'s/business cards, etc. A lot of the sites here are really good. Some are so-so. It just depends. However, I can definitely say that work has come in based on the site design. Not incredibly high-paying work, but work nonetheless [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Same here. Web design is my \"specialty\", I guess you could say. Well... Flash, moreso (seven or so years experience in Flash itself).

If you\'re looking for something in Flash, probably some of the best places to look around are by going to forums and simply asking, as the whole Flash community is a very pleasant and friendly atmosphere. You\'ll get some nice recommendations, and people can show off their work to you.

A good place is FlashKit. Check out their forums and follow some links in people\'s signatures. If you like their stuff, shoot them an email. If/when you find some you may be interested in, come back here and ask the group what they think. If I\'m around, I may even be able to identify them and have some knowledge of their past work behavior. Even if you want a Flash-free site, it\'s a great place to look for budding designers.

Most web designers will never list a flat rate. There are simply too many small details that up the difficulty, and up it fast. For example, it takes many more man hours to add a news script with a file uploader that you can easily use to post new items yourself (with no knowledge of HTML). CGI or PHP work like that generally up the time and cost plenty.