• Register
  • Help

Topic: Advice on playing live...

Advice on playing live...

I am new to gigastudio, but learning fast. I just returned from NAMM looking at digital grands to replace a kurzweil mark series that I used for a long time on stage. However, I just ordered the White Grand piano samples and would like to know how practical it would be to keep the kurzweil, set up a killer computer and play these samples live?

Any advice is appreciated.

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar
    Dallas, Texas

Re: Advice on playing live...

Very easy.

I suggest getting a 4-space rackmount case for your stage computer. There are system builders who supply them in those cases, and there are suppliers for them on the net--easy to find.

This gives you a more robust case. It will be a little long for most racks, SKB, etc., but the longer footprint Anvils will contain one very easily, along with your audio interface and a small line mixer.

I personally don\'t have mine racked in a case. I opted for an Anvil carrying case that it will fit into perfectly (rack handles down).

I have my other components in an SKB rack, including the audio interface (Layla), a small mixer (Alesis Studio 12R--nice for the purpose), a DigiTech Studio 400 (for mic FX), and a wireless receiver in that case--along with the standard Furman power-strip/light.

Everything is all pre-patched.

When I get to the gig, I unpack the rackmount computer and put it on the floor. Then I place the SKB on its front right on top of the computer and pop off the back panel. I pull out the power cord to the wall, the parallel cable to the Layla, and the power-cords to the monitor and CPU, plug it all in, and boot up.

I have found that it is actually faster to set up than my older multi-keyboard systems!! Once I\'m booted up, I open Giga or Reaktor, whichever I am using, and open my performance-files, and let them load while I gets me-self a drinky-poo.