• Register
  • Help

Topic: My Arduous Trip To GigaNirvana

New York City

My Arduous Trip To GigaNirvana

I just thought this might be useful for beginners just to know what they MIGHT be up against. There is no denying that some people get a computer, Gigastudio and samples and everything works great. I was not one of these people. When I started I had very little experience with computers or software. I was a musician, plain and simple.

I became interested in Gigastudio because I found Bolder Sounds’ fortepiano. I could not find a fortepiano for a traditional sound module. I purchased this disc and Gigastudio 96 v. 2.2 (I think?) and soon after Michiel Post\'s fortepiano as well.

When I received the software I loaded it on my new Dell computer. It would not do anything. I called Tascam and they informed me that the version I had wouldn\'t work with XP which is what my new Dell ran on. They told me that there was an update. They were patient and helpful. I downloaded the update, uninstalled the old version and installed this new version. It did not work because my soundcard was not GSIF compatible (again, a novice mistake).

So I got on this board and looked for a good all in one soundcard in my price range. I ended up buying the audiophile 2496. I installed it and ran Gigastudio. Nothing but clicks and pops and enormous latency problems. I contacted Gigastudio support again. It turned out I made another novice mistake. I only had one hard drive. So I bought another hard drive and installed that. I ran Gigastudio again and got lots of clicks and pops.

I contacted Giga Support again and they directed me to download the most recent drivers for my soundcard. I did so. Still no improvement. I gave up for a little while and returned to the project a few months later. There was a new driver for the audiocard. It did not do the trick.