• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: best film music school in LA

Share/Bookmark

best film music school in LA

a little off topic but...

which school of film music would you recommend in LA?
    Which is the most respected, prestigious, with best teachers?

many thanks for any help,
    Abel

Re: best film music school in LA

It\'s been quite a while since I lived in Los Angeles, but two former composers that I studied with teach at UCLA Extension and USC. I think that USC doesn\'t have a film music major, but some classes on it. UCLA Extension probably doesn\'t award a regular degree for their film program, but then a degree in film music would mean nothing anyway; it is more the knowledge that you\'d be after.

If SR is right that we are more after working knowledge/networking than actual certifications/degrees (assuming you don\'t want to formally teach), would the time not be better spent interning or working for no/low pay in the industry - reserving academic environment only after the the industry avenues are underway or exhausted?

I recently finished 5 quarters of study at UCLA extension. Here\'s what I know:

Both UCLA and USC have certificate programs, meaning you get a little piece of paper at the end of your studies.

UCLA is a lot more casual in it\'s approach, allowing you greater flexibility in the classes you choose to take.

Though I had some great teachers at UCLA, I believe USC has more prominently named musicians heading their classes.

The largest ensmeble I wrote for at UCLA was 31 players. USC film scoring students routinely get assignments for up to 70-80 players.

UCLA is a fraction of the cost. You can take as many classes as you want and most are offerered twice a year.

For me, the best part of UCLA was learning to write for live ensembles. Prior to my stint there, I had no experience with traditional orchestral composition. But writing for LA session players on a weekly basis really improved my writing chops.