• Register
  • Help

Topic: Some questions about composing hollywood style music...

Re: Some questions about composing hollywood style music...

You can start by attending some orchestral concerts and taking note of where the various sections sit. This will give you clues as to how to pan the various sections. The seating arrangements are standard for 19th and early 20th century music....which is what much film scoring is based.

The Miroslav sampled string sections are already pre-panned to the proper place, for the most part, when you use stereo.

As far as the rest of your quest, it is a difficult task to become self-taught in areas of orchestration and arranging. Although, as someone with a degree in music, I can state my opinion that creative composing is something that CAN\'T be taught, anymore than creative writing or any other creative task. The best that can happen is to be guided by someone, but ultimately good composing can\'t be taught.

That being said, there are many issues of compositional and orchestrating craft that can be taught. And it is generally more time efficient to get that training from a music school.

good luck with your pursuits.

Yes I have the orchestral setting chart, but the panning seems rather tricky. Though I suppose I will just continue to mess with it until I get it right. Well thanks for the response.

To get a good sound, panning is only part of process; it is also important to get a good sense of distance between the instruments. This is achieved by setting various dry/wet reverb levels for the various instruments. For example:
    -1st and 2nd violins are quite close, so you might give them a 75/25 dry/wet setting.
    -Horns are further to the back, so you might try a 60/40 or 50/50 setting.

I usually add a delay to one channel of stereosound to get some more space; I do this by recording a track, and then using a sample-delay plugin on the recorded audiotrack to offset one channel 50-150 samples.