• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Kontakt5, Finale 2014 and Cubase Studio5.

Share/Bookmark

Kontakt5, Finale 2014 and Cubase Studio5.

1) I have these 3 pieces of software on my computer in addition to ARIA and all of the Garritan libraries.

2) ARIA and Garritan libraries work fine within Finale 2014.

3) I also have EWQL Symphonic Choirs.

4) I am a composer, not a computer geek, and am hoping to find someone that can tell me how (or even if) I can use any of these together.

5) Goal: To write scores with Finale 2014 and hear what is being written. So far all Garritan libraries work wonderfully that way, except the volumes (you call them velocities?) and articulations do not work in all Garritan libraries.

6) My initial thought was to write in Finale, export the music to Kontakt 5 where I could insert instruments into the score including EWQL choirs and Garritan libraries. Then use Cubase to polish the final product.

7) Is this even possible, or am I way off base.

Re: Kontakt5, Finale 2014 and Cubase Studio5.

Hi Tom,

I also do a lot of my writing in Finale, though I am trying to get away from that for more realistic results. Even then, for more complex orchestrations, I find it much easier to write into Finale so I can see exactly what is going on.

What I do is take the midi files from Finale, and export to REAPER. (You can download it as a free trial, which never expires). From there you can load up the instruments to each midi track, and then edit the midi cc data as needed.

Here's an example of a transcription I did of a video game track using this method, using a variety of different players and plugins which would prove difficult, if not impossible to do in Finale:

https://soundcloud.com/michaeldmiles/frantic-factory-1