• Register
  • Help

Topic: introducing myself

introducing myself

I am rather new to this great forum. Just to introduce myself I have posted the 1st movement of my actual work-in-progress Sinfonietta.

Just go to: http://homepage.mac.com/michaelpalm/FileSharing1.html
    and download \"Sinfonietta 1st Mvmt.mp3\"

Any comments are highly appreciated. Sorry for the rather large mp3 file.

best regards

Re: introducing myself

Very nice introduction, Michael! Welcome to the forum. What libraries are you using? Other synths/software beside GS?

BTW, this may be me, but it seems the mix is a bit hot, I\'m getting occasional breakup in the track.

I did this with AO + AO97 update and my old trustworthy Kurzweil K2000 (with built-in orchestral expansion board; many sounds on this board are still very usable). Sampling was done on the AKAI S3000XL and the Kurzweil´s sampling board, since I don´t (yet?) own GS; editing, multitracking and mixing in Studio Vision Pro (in the meantime I have switched to Digital Performer which is a great app!).

I have checked the mp3 again and it sounds OK, I didn´t get those breakups you were talking about.

On http://homepage.mac.com/michaelpalm/FileSharing1.html I will post further music soon.

DP - I love it! And I\'m glad to hear that the MP3 is OK, this is going into my \'saved demos\' folder that I play for people to show what Giga is capable of. Nice work.

Thanks for compliments,
    but as I´ve said, this piece wasn´t done in Giga but with AKAI and Kurzweil gear.

Anyway, there are additional soundtrack excerpts online now under the address I´ve mentioned.

Great stuff Michael! I downloaded all your pieces. Is that the brass from AO? It sounds very bright....

I like Orchestral Intro, those low string movements are cool. They remind me of the Excalibur theme. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] Where is that main trumpet from? AO....?