• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Guitar Suite

Share/Bookmark

Guitar Suite

This is my first time at writing for guitar. I am including 3 pieces from a suite I am working on for the Cleveland Classical Guitar Society. Having only minimum experience playing the guitar, this is a new venture for me. If there are any classical guitarist out there that would like to peruse the score to give me any helpful hints, I would appreciate the help.

I. El Conquistador

II. Flamenco Buleria

III. El Gitano

Enjoy the Spanish Flavors!

Bill
    We dream to write and we write to dream.

Challenge #10 Winner

Re: Guitar Suite

Bill,

Some very nice work here! This is for multiple guitars, yes? That wasn't clear from your post - if this is solo guitar music, well, it won't work; two or three, certainly. A lot depends on key, as the guitar is a very idiomatic instrument, and there is a huge difference between keys, and their playability.

I would suggest that you send your sketches/completed works to the performers to get feedback. The one thing that could be a problem are the scale passages - they can be difficult for guitarists, depending on the speed/velocity. If your players can handle it, they great.

Nice work - I hope you get a really good performance from them.
    Ron Pearl

ronaldmpearl.com

myspace:

http://myspace.com/rmpearl

Quote Originally Posted by rpearl View Post
    Bill,

Some very nice work here! This is for multiple guitars, yes? That wasn't clear from your post - if this is solo guitar music, well, it won't work; two or three, certainly.
    Nice work - I hope you get a really good performance from them.
    Sorry. yes it is for Guitar Quartet. I wasn't sure of the scales, but good guitarists should be able. They are passed from voice to voice (only one scale per player.)

I am also not sure of the chord voicings, I tend to use my piano technique to voice the guitar chords, and I know that is incorrect.