• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Questions as I'm new with GOS

Questions as I\'m new with GOS

I got my GOS collections last week and I\'m digging through everything while trying to get work done.... probably should have waited for a vacation to jump in, but oh well. A couple of issues...

1) How many Giga Machines do I need? I have a P4 1.7 Ghz with 512 RAM, and I get the Vln. 1, Viola, Cello and DB long bows loaded and I\'m sitting over 90% RAM. Humm.... Doesn\'t leave me much room. I\'m hesitant to buy more RAM because I\'m using the not so cheap RDram, and I also have heard Giga won\'t recognize as much as I could put in.... what does everyone else do to get around this?

2) I\'m struggling to make the Legatos work well....I\'m using maestro tools and I think I\'ve managed to figure out the playing technique, but it\'s seems to work best with only one part, and it\'s just not sounding super legato... anyone want to offer some tricks and tips?

3) The auto alternator is pretty dang cool, but the samples seem to run short.... the higher register of the instruments are not sampled..... any reason for this?

I think that\'s all for now. I think this library is the bomb and I can\'t wait to really learn to use it! Later

Re: Questions as I\'m new with GOS

Hey J.,

Re your 1t question:
    This sounds to me as if you are loading the entire Gig files, whereas you better select individual instruments within the Gig files. For this, first click on the \'+\' icons in front of the Gig file names, in the lower half of the GigaStudio window (The \"QuickSound\" area). You wil; see that the Gig file contains a list of instruments that you can load selectively (right click and use the Load command).

You should be able to load quite a bunch of Gos instruments this way.

Peter / emano