• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Really struggling with 1st Violins

Really struggling with 1st Violins

Is it only me .... ?

I have been playing around with GOS for more than two months now, and I have to say that pretty much like anybody else I guess, I have been blown away by the incredible quality of this library, all the thought that has been put behind it etc...

But I would like to share some of my struggles with y\'all in order to see if there could be some tricks that I haven\'t tried yet that could help me to achieve the results that I was expecting when I originally purchased GOS.

My biggest problem is with the 1st violins Long Bow instruments, but this could apply with a few others as well...

Does anyone hear some sort of \"phasey\" almost \"synth-y\" quality to the violins or is it just my ears ? Go ahead: Load 1st Violins SUS V EXP LEG, don\'t EQ or add anything to it, pan it dead center and hit F# above C above middle C (F#3 by most standards) Even if you play with the MOD wheel there is a certain \" deadness \" and \" thiness \" to that note that I just can\'t really describe but that is nonetheless very present to my ears. It is almost like the woody quality of the instruments is not projecting or something....

I have heard students violin players sound more \"live\" and vibrant than that sometimes, just playing that same F#, I am afraid to say.

Somehow there is a richness and a fulness that I can\'t seem to be able to get with specially the held notes on SUS patches.

I have spend quite a number of hours trying to EQ, pan, double, slide, and more tricks in the MIDI book, and I have been able to somwhat \"get away \" with some of it, but still, I was under the impression that sampling several hundred of thousands of dollars of instruments with all the bells and whistles in recording gear would somehow yield to a more lively sound or more natural if you will.

I can already guess that some of you will say: