• Register
  • Help

Topic: Request for Critique Of Work

Request for Critique Of Work

What\'s Up?

Here\'s a link to a VERY rough mix (no eq, basic dsp, \"faders up\") of an orchestral piece I\'m working on. Since I\'m basically NOT an orchestral composer, I\'m hoping to get some solid feedback from those of you who are. I\'d like comments mainly on orchestration and what I might do to improve what you hear. My background is more in popular music and commercial music for advertising. I\'m new to game music, and since I\'m hearing a lot of orchestral music in games, I\'m looking to improve my orchestral writing and arranging. Is there too much in a particular frequency? Should I open up voicings on the string pad? Drop the string pad? Try different instruments on the lead lines? etc....

Hi-Fi Streaming LINK:

Download LINK (slow modem):

For those interested, this was a Gigastudio using the Garritan Orchestral Strings, Dan Dean Brass and Woodwinds, London Orchestral Percusion, and Symphony of Voices, sequenced in Cubase SX. Only Gigastudio effects processing.

Again, this is a rough mix of a work in progress....

Re: Request for Critique Of Work

Hi Tony,

you\'ve a great theme to work with!
    Sounds a lot like something from Warcraft or something like
    that. [img]images/icons/blush.gif[/img] )

Ok, here comes some advice:

1. Create a counter-rythm to your \"daa-dadada-daa-daa\"
    rythm. That will keep the audience interested.
    2. You\'ve too much tutti all the time, I would sometimes
    break it up and allow maybe just one section of the
    orchestra to have solo (for example brass or winds).
    3. You don\'t need to have the basses to play all the time.
    If you want some lighter bass line, then have the cellos
    play it without doublebass. In some cases you can have
    the violas act as bass, but then of course you may not
    allow the other voices to play in register lower than
    the violas.