• Register
  • Help

Topic: Really dumb GOS and GIGA question...

Share/Bookmark

Really dumb GOS and GIGA question...

Hi Guys, this question may well qualify me for the \"dumbest GOS-related question of all time\" but I have to ask.

I am new to Gigastudio (I received it with GOS last week). I noticed that if you load a file like say, Long Bows 1 you get a whole heap of different patches within the main gig file.
    I have read through most of the GOS manual but what I dont understand is how to change playing techniques quickly and simply.

For example, do you load up a marcato patch on midi channel 1, a legato patch on 2, grand detache on 3, etc and then in your sequencer play the string line and then spread it around on different midi tracks to suit?

I mean if you had a part that started slow and sweeping but then changed into some fast bowing would you play this part across different midi tracks with different patches loaded to suit?

Sorry for the very basic question. Hey, if it is the dumbest question ever, will I win a free hat or coffee mug or something? Or is that question even dumber? OK, I\'ll shut up now... [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Cheers, Scott.

Re: Really dumb GOS and GIGA question...

My 2 cents.

There\'s lotsa methods, each having strengths. Generaliziing here, but the most common way I work is to have one sequencer midi track for each section (every section, not just strings) and a corresponding Giga channel. Then I use patch changes within the midi track to call for different articulations. Likewise for solo voices, each in their own track/channel pair. This is a fairly liberal use of virutal real estate, so I make use of all the Giga ports.