• Register
  • Help

Topic: Taking the plunge

Taking the plunge

I\'m an owner of Gigastudio 160 and a Korg X5D. I have been very interested in Garriton Orchestral Strings, but I am new at this and could use some direction.

First off, is it reasonable that I could learn about harmony, music theory, proper use of the string library so anything I do isn\'t too fundamentally flawed without spending tens of thousands for traditional college education? What would be some recommended books to get down the fundamentals?

What are some recomended sequencer software I should consider to sit between my keyboard and Gigastudio? I\'ve considered Cakewalk.

I\'d be interested in contacting different users to continue ongoing discussions of how I can get my feet wet.

-- Patrick

Re: Taking the plunge

Cakewalk SONAR is AWESOME! I\'ll never switch to anything else unless I have to. It\'s got a real great user interface, in my opinion, and it isn\'t sugar-coated. Everything is laid out plain and simple, and it\'s easy to use.

Hi Patrick, I have no classical training and own the GOS library.

I must admit that at first I found it a little bewildering but all you really need to do is pick a book on orchestration to learn the terms of various playing techniques. Not to mention the natural ranges of each instrument.

I have found Samuel Adlers Study of Orchestration book to be excellent. You can even buy accompanying CD\'s that show video clips of the different playing techniques.

Also, it is good to learn terms like marcato, staccato etc as other orchestral lib\'s will obviously use them as well. Sam Horns and Trombones spring to mind as an example.

Once you know the terms you will find it much easier going. Initially it is hard to know which sample patch to use when doing a fast piece, slow piece etc but it all comes in time.

I personally use Cubase but have heard that Cakewalk is very good.

Any other questions, feel free to ask, there\'s lots of knowledgeable folks here.