• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Some more questions regarding GPO

Share/Bookmark

Some more questions regarding GPO

I have a few more questions about the GPO. I am a college student, so is there some sort of educational discount, like a lot of other products have, or is it the same price for everyone?

Secondly, what is the learning curve of this product? For example, after one knows the basics, how long would it take to create something like the Beethoven 5th symphony or Mozart piece in the demo page?

Lastly, I would love to hear how this program makes a string quartet sound. I have heard the demos on the page, but is there anyone with a string quartet demo in particular? Thanks!

Re: Some more questions regarding GPO

Originally posted by Scherzo:
    ...so is there some sort of educational discount, like a lot of other products have, or is it the same price for everyone?
    <font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">It is the same price for everyone, I am a student also and e-mailed Mr. Garritan a while ago about academic prices, I think the truth is, with the profit margin so slim on this product already (an assumption here folks) that selling it for any less would actually be taking a loss...

As far as the learning curve, well, I created this demo: http://www.alanjoseph.com/OktoberGPO.mp3 in about three hours the first night I had the product, I posted it the next morning. It is mainly a small string ensemble with an English Horn.

The speed of the product is only slowed down by your personal midi programming skills, in my case I don\'t have a keyboard with a mod wheel so I am currently drawing in my modulation by hand using the mouse in Cubase SX, if you have a firm background in midi already than this will be a piece of cake for you, just tell your midi to go to GPO instead of soundblaster (or whichever GM device you\'re currently using).