• Register
  • Help

Topic: How easy is GPO to use for a complete newbie?

Share/Bookmark

How easy is GPO to use for a complete newbie?

With regard to computer sequencing, I\'ve only ever done tracking -- originally with Fast Tracker 2, and these days with ModPlug Tracker. I\'m quite competent with this technique and have done a lot of orchestral pieces with it, as scores to my short animated films.

How different is sequencing to tracking? Will I be thrown in at the deep end when I first use GPO, or is it fairly easy to get used to?

Re: How easy is GPO to use for a complete newbie?

I think it\'s much easier. I don\'t think you\'ll have much problem. I used to do alot of tracking as well, and still find it has some advantages. I recently found a free tracker-style program (for PC) that supports VST plugins/instruments. I haven\'t used it a whole lot, but it does seem to work. I think you can find it at hitsquad.com/smm

Cool. Thanks for the info -- it\'s been harder than you might think to find an opinion from somebody who also comes from a tracking background.

I\'m using version 1.14 of Modplug Tracker and it supports VST plugins too, although I don\'t have any VST plugins. Usually I save my song to a WAV or MP3 file, then go and add reverb in CoolEdit, as well as any additional mastering and stuff.

Are you planning on continuing to use ModPlug Tracker and running GPO as a VST plugin or are you planning on using a midi sequencer?

I used to use Fast Tracker (and Scream Tracker before that) and then switched to Logic. It took me a little while to adapt my thinking from the thought process of the tracking programs, but once you get used to the midi sequencer you will have much more power over the subtle nuances within the instrument through various midi controllers.