• Register
  • Help

Topic: Upgrading PC for GPO

Upgrading PC for GPO

Hey everyone,

How is everyone\'s Friday going? Mine could be better. I\'ve been talking on the phone with Dell since about 11:00. Well, I say talking, but I really mean....

....wait for it....

.........ON HOLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OK, now that I got that off of my chest. I am trying to upgrade my PC to better use GPO. I must admit that when it comes to the nitty-gritty of computer electronics, I\'m kinda dumb (I am a drummer!!) Here\'s what I have now:

Dell Dimension 4100
    Intel Pentium III processor
    384 MB Ram (max 512)
    Soundblaster Live Value

I know that my currnet settings are very skimpy. I would like to change the motherboard so that I can have a Pentium 4 and at least 1G ram. Is this possible? What else would I have to change? I don\'t want to buy a new PC. Please, let me know.

And before anyone says it, yes, I checked the specifications on what GPO required before I bought it. I had planned on upgraded anyway.

That for the help.

Re: Upgrading PC for GPO

Well, talking to DELL won\'t help you with the motherboard thing, they won\'t sell you just certain parts, they\'ll sell you the whole thing, although, after looking over your specs, buying a whole new thing wouldn\'t be a bad idea...

I have a DELL PC I got about 14 months ago and I LOVE it with GPO inside of Cubase SX, and I\'m only running with 768MB of RDRAM...

If I were in your position, I would pick up a bare-bones system with a kickin\' mother-board and just take your nice CD-Drives and HDDs from the comp you have now and shove them into the new one...

You might also consider a different sound card, but that depends on your budget...