• Register
  • Help

Topic: Anybody getting some distortion in GPO?

Anybody getting some distortion in GPO?

As I\'ve been playing more and more with GPO this week (I\'m trying to give it a goooood workout) I\'ve noticed that some of the instruments seem to have a slight distortion. Is this just me or are several people noticing this? Specifically I\'m hearing some on the Harps - and some on the Solo Clarinet. I can\'t find any distortion or clipping anywhere in my chain - my levels are fine coming out of the computer and my mixers are not peaking..... am I alone in this? Is this maybe a Kontakt bug??

Re: Anybody getting some distortion in GPO?

Originally posted by J. Whaley:
    ...I\'ve noticed that some of the instruments seem to have a slight distortion...
    <font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">J,
    As I am fairly new to samples & mixing could you tell me what distortion is? Every now and then I get a MIDI channel volume in a track and the sound is apparently too loud for my wimpy speakers, but I assume you\'re talking about something different, something subtly wrong with the sounds?

Distortion could be coming from various sources. Low quality components (speakers, mixer, amp) could be the source if you’re driving them beyond their capabilities. For this reason alone, I purchased a pro-quality set of headphones. I have noticed distortion in my inexpensive monitors that I don’t hear when I mix with my headphones. (Studio quality monitors are next on my list.) If you\'re running your soundcard\'s output through a mixer on the way to an amp, make sure your mixer is not clipping (check the trim pot).

You could be driving your sequencer’s audio engine or the Kontakt Player too hard. Check the output meters on the Kontakt Player and your sequencer to make sure they’re not being overdriven. The GPO Kontakt Player volume control is setting independent for each instrument slot.