• Register
  • Help

Topic: Copyright issues

Copyright issues

I am wondering how the whole copyright thing works with posting demos. I have seen some people post stuff (such as Copland) that I don\'t believe is public domain, so is it ok to just post thngs? I have some demos of Brahms and Rachmaninov symphonies i\'d like to post eventually but i dont care much for getting in trouble.

Re: Copyright issues

I think it is O.K. to post stuff that is very old, like Beethoven, Schubert, etc, but I am not a copyright expert. Someone told me that copyrights last for 100 years. Is this accurate?

I figured Beethoven and Schubert were public domain, since you can find complete scores of their works online. I was mostly concerned with the people who come in the next time period, like Brahms and Rachmaninov.

If I remember correctly after 60 years from the death of the author the music becomes of public domain.
    I\'m not sure.

There are two categories under US law:

1. For works created on or after 1/1/1978, it\'s life of the composer, plus 70 years. Period.

2. For works created before 1978, same thing, EXCEPT no copyright will expire before 12/31/2002. Additionally, if the work is published on or before 12/31/2002, the copyright will not expire until 12/31/2047.

Everything Meanska said is true. But... what about the royalties on copyrighted material on the Internet? Is is mechanical royalties or performance royalties?

If it\'s mechanical, then whoever posts the copyrighted material would have to pay the writer about six cents per hit. If it\'s performance royalties, then Gary or whoever owns this forum would have to pay ASCAP or BMI royalties, but only if it\'s surveyed.

Beats me how they interpret this stuff. My guess? The music industry still hasn\'t figured it out yet.

Mike Jasper