• Register
  • Help

Topic: Orchestral "Punch"

Share/Bookmark

Orchestral "Punch"

Hi there,

I received GPO 3 days ago and try to figure out all of the possibilities it gives me (and there seem to be lots of them).

So far - and this should not be mistaken as a complain - I see a lack of \"punch\" to the strings and horns. It seems that the short bows are a bit too sweet, I would like them to produce more \"bow-sound\" for powerful staccatos. Same goes for the horns, the overlay ff is sounding really good, but it is not well suited for powerful unison staccato notes - my opinion (might be wrong [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] ).

I understand that the library can produce some really beautiful AND powerful sounds and I listened to all the demos available before I decided to go with GPO (instead of EWQL Silver) and I am not disappointed - although I couldn\'t test all of the sounds yet.

So why am I posting this? I am new to GPO and would like to here some suggestions. What do you use when you are in need for some adventureous, hollywood-like sounds? Are there any tips and tricks to get more out of GPO. Do you have other libraries to fill in the needs for what GPO doesn\'t support yet?

Last but not least let me tell you that this seems to be a cool forum. Most products are just as good as the community and the support. Both seem to be excellent for GPO.

Thanks for sharing,

Malte

Re: Orchestral "Punch"

Attack is controlled by velocity. The strings bite more with higher velocities. Make sure your MIDI controller is putting out velocities up to 127. All attacks are controlled this way.

GPO will get you 90% of the way for most sounds and for many this may be all they need. Once you learn the library, then you can look where you need other sounds. SAM horns are a good compliment. I also layer in some QLSO Silver in the brass parts. I wish they used filtering on Silver for the staccato samples as the transitions from layer to layer is quite abrupt.