• Register
  • Help

Topic: My first contribution

My first contribution

Hi everyone

I\'ve been lurking on this forum for quite some time and since it\'s filled with some splendidly talented and knowledgeable people, I\'ve been reluctant to contribute. It took some courage!

I recently bought GPO and I am so grateful to Mr. Garritan for making it first of all affordable for hobbyists and relatively easy to use. I say relatively, because I am a complete novice in the use of programs such as Cubasis. In fact, it was the first time ever and it took me some time to figure out how to get anything from it and I am still learning. Sibelius is about the only music software I am familiar with. I’ve learnt an incredible amount from the people in this forum, so I say thank you to everyone.

Having said this, I would like to post my first attempt. It’s short composition of my own and yet, it took me some real effort, simply because everything about MIDI controllers and channels and all the rest of it, is completely new to me. It’s scored for flute, oboe, clarinet, bass clarinet, timps and strings. I suppose you could call it very conservative and nothing adventurous compared to some other demos I’ve listened to.
    web page

Thank you again for a great place to learn.

Louis Dekker

PS: I hope the link works, if it doesn\'t, then copy and paste.

Re: My first contribution

Sorry! That first link doesn\'t seem to work. The next one should take you to a page on my website, just click the link there.Hope that works!

Again, just copy and paste. I\'m not getting this link-thing right.

That was a very nice combination of instruments and a nice arrangement [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] and even more so for your first post. I was especially drawn to the flute and how well it fit in and sounded so natural.

I would say that you have learned well from your lessons just lurking around this forum. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]