• Register
  • Help

Topic: Is this just a lot of noise or...

Is this just a lot of noise or...

does it have some potential? This is my first attempt to mock up an orchestral piece. I guess I should have picked something EASIER [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] It is a VERY ROUGH draft, so please, be gentle. All I am hoping for is some constructive criticism to point me in the right direction.

Also, if you have a loose cannon lying around, I could use it in this piece [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] so fire away!

Here is the file: Ouverture

Thanks for listening to my ramblings,

Re: Is this just a lot of noise or...

I recently lamented the lack of a canon sample in another thread! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Sounds good to my tin ears! [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] Personally, I\'m stumped for how to start, now that I have GPO in my possession. How did you do this? Entered from the score by hand? Transcribed it from a recording by ear? Or converted a \"reasonably close\" MIDI file to GPO-specific forms?

- m

Markleford - thank you for your kind words! I purchased the score and played all the tracks on my digital piano. Other than that, I used the Garritan Ambience effect (Concert Hall 1) and I turned the down the volume of the brass and woodwind instruments a bit, as they were overpowering the strings too much...

Chandler, Arizona

Good first try.

Here\'s a couple things that will help you improve. Record an audio track of a real orchestra playing the piece. You can use this as a guide for setting up a tempo track. It\'s surprising how much the tempo changes in most orchestral pieces (almost constantly). You can also use the audio track to get your articulations as close as to the real thing. The audio track will help you balance the levels of the sections and help setting ambience settings. Usually percussion has more reverb as it sits back further.

Keep up the good work.