• Register
  • Help

Topic: A new piece from me...

A new piece from me...

This is my latest attempt with GPO. I recently got Cubase SX to use with GPO, but I have to say that I was completely shocked by it\'s complexity. There are buttons, knobs and sliders everywhere, and poor me haven\'t got the foggyest of how to really use them. [img]images/icons/blush.gif[/img] Perhaps there is someone here who would be willing to explain the use of an equalizer to a complete novice. I\'m almost convinced that it is one of the keys to getting clearer mp3\'s. My mix downs always seem to be a bit muffled and muddy, and I can\'t seem to find a way to get rid of it.

Anyway, here is my next piece after numerous takes. Don\'t judge too harshly please! I\'m eager to learn from comments and suggestions.

Best wishes

Louis Dekker

Orcas Island

Re: A new piece from me...

Very nice theme.

I really liked the harp part (being a harpist I thought you did a convincing job). What may help is to learn the use of legato mode to get the phrases to have more connection.

To help simplify Cubase SX and GPO, Alan wrote an excellent tutorial you may find useful:

EQ is a fascinating subject and engineers spend a great deal of time studying and appying it. It helps to listen to recordings and listen to the EQ and apply it to the music you are creating.

Please continue woring on your Fantasie Symphonique. Does anyone else have suggestions for Louis?

Gary Garritan

Some pointers

Hi Louis

Don\'t worry yourself about the complexity or abundance of knobs. The matter of EQing, Reverbing, or otherwise FXing does frighten most people not accustomed to it. But there are plenty of books written on the topics (like Audio PostProduction by Jay Rose) which handle the matter delicately and intuitively. A very eye-opening read, imho.

If you are not totally concerned with the nuances of such things, then perhaps taking time to look over the following pointers might help: