• Register
  • Help

Topic: 10th Anniversary of Using Garritan Products (GPO & JABB)

Share/Bookmark

10th Anniversary of Using Garritan Products (GPO & JABB)

Hello -

Recently, I realized that I've been using GPO for a little over 10 years now! I don't know if it has been 10 years, but I purchased JABB as soon as it was released!

To say that the Garritan products have been important in my musical life would be a huge understatement! GPO is what opened my compositional mind to composing for orchestra! Additionally, both GPO and JABB helped enable me to go from 100% hardware-based sequencing (using all kinds of tone generators which are now neatly tucked away in my closet) to 100% computer-based sequencing.

Although I have since purchased other "virtual instrument" libraries, I STILL use GPO and JABB in my compositions. My "go-to" orchestral templet uses GPO and JABB extensively.

Just for the kicks and giggles, I decided to share my very first orchestral composition using (ONLY) GPO which I wrote and sequenced back in early 2005, and the most recent orchestral composition using GPO, JABB and a few other instrumental libraries which I finished in the fall of 2014.

Here is my first 100% orchestral-type composition using GPO (back in the Kontakt days): Common Conversations (click on link). It was my first attempt to writing ANYTHING for a small orchestral ensemble, actually!

Now, here is the latest orchestral composition: Summer in Mid-July (click on link). For this piece, I used GPO and JABB for all solo instruments (strings, brass and wood winds) and pretty much all percussion (except for the wood blocks). Additional instrumental libraries used were Kirk Hunter's Concert Strings 2, Kirk Hunter's Concert Brass 2, and a 'Wood Blocks" VI from some library found deep within one of my computer's SSDs (LOL!).