• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: Anyone here a talented composer?

Share/Bookmark

Anyone here a talented composer?

I am an idiot trying to learn how to compose, and I have questions. Can anyone here help me?

Re: Anyone here a talented composer?

What questions do you have?
    Rod

We will try our best to answer, Steve.

For an absolute beginner, "Composing Music" by William Russo can provide a good start.

I have frequently been asked by local musician how I go about composing. So a few years ago, I wrote out a few paragraphs. A bit disorganized, but it does generally describe how I go about it. If you are interested, I can find it and post it here.

Richard

You need two important things to compose.
    An ear and a heart.
    If composing would be a process which can be exactly described then it would be science and not art. Like any art, Composing is a regulation-free activity, or it should be. The end result is a composition which is pleasing at least to one person, the composer. The acceptance of that composition by others, or the rejection of it, does not reflect the value of the composition. Of course, when both the composer and the audience is liking the piece, it is heaven for the composer, he/she managed to transfer his feelings to others, which is the actual goal of any art.
    So, try to compose with your inside, do not worry about rules, but make sure that YOU like what you have created, your ear and heart both liking it.

Ted

Ted is right on. Rules are derived from practice, not the other way around. Instructions can provide you with the tools you need to express yourself, but they can not teach you how to create ideas. They are useful, but not inviolable laws.

Best advice:

Duke Ellington: If it sounds good, it is good.

Paul Hindemith and Walter Piston: The ear is the final arbiter.