• Register
  • Help

Topic: Best weighted-action master keyboard

Best weighted-action master keyboard

sponsored links

After my first gig as a pianist with our local symphony orchestra, it is clear that my Yamaha P-80 is not the ideal tool for the job. The sound should be easy enough to fix with a notebook running Gigasampler and one of the big piano libraries. But what about the action? Training as a classical pianist I am fairly picky about keyboard feel. Every digital piano and weighted-action syntheziser I┤ve tried so far has too light keys for true piano technique. Only the P-80 has given me the proper weight so far. But I find it exceedingly difficult to control the sound in the ppp-pp range, no doubt because the design of the action is very different from that of a true piano.

What is, then, in your opinion the master keyboard (or digital piano) with the very best keyboard action on the market? I┤ve read that Kawai has a digital piano which tries to mimic the action of a grand as closely as possible. Any comments? Do you know of any manufacturer that might even build a master keyboard using a proper grand piano action?

Thank you for your help.

Re: Best weighted-action master keyboard

I too like the action of the Yamaha P-80 but its velocity curves (a choice of three) are not sensitive enough for what you are looking for - as you stated. It also is not a good controller in that it does not have a mod wheel etc. You might move up the line to the P-200 or P-250 which probably have better curves. When I was last in the market both Roland and Kawai also has some KBs with good piano action. Only a trip to your local music store will tell. Let us know what you find.

PS. You used a P-80 to play with a symphony orchestra?