• Register
  • Help

Topic: Could take some hints from any instrument pro/student for learning scales...

Could take some hints from any instrument pro/student for learning scales...

sponsored links

specially sax players...

First a bit of history. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] Before I started playing the guitar I wondered for a while about buying a sax (I wrote \"buying a sax\", not \"buying \") Ok, so it was a bit too expensive to me and I went with a guitar.

Now, after I buy a new guitar and a new system, my #3 in my wish list currently is a tenor saxophone. I always loved jazz but I dislike jazz guitar. I think it doesnīt have that much of expression power for jazz as, letīs say, a trumpet, a sax, or even a piano or double bass which are my preferred jazz instruments. (ATTENTION!: this is just MY personal opinion. I donīt doubt many people around here will love jazz guitar, but I donīt, sorry.)

So Iīm slowly starting to learn what will I need, looking different models, brands, etc...apart fom hearing a lot of jazz records, which I always did, but now even more, selecting more the stuff I hear, etc...

And here is where I need your help. I always learnt guitar scales through fingerings even knowing most of the time which notes I was playing, but it was all about the frets, not the notes. This method, followed by so many self taught guitar players is very nice and easy, but now I see its HUGE flaw. I have no idea how I would go about learning scales with another instrument.

So knowing would you please explain me whatīs your way of learning scales with your instrument? Even if you donīt play sax, I think the method shouldnīt differ much. I think itīs the time I start thinking on music as opposed to where I place my fingers.