• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: How to compose "tunes"? Please help ...

How to compose "tunes"? Please help ...

sponsored links

Dear Composers,

I am a music illiterate from Tamil Nadu, a state in South of INDIA. My ultimate ambition is to compose music for films (songs and tracks). However, all I know about music is playing my keyboard-synth ( I have a Triton Studio 88) which I had been doing for about 3 years.

Now, when I play my own \"tunes\", I find that they are very amateurish (not the least close to the film song tunes here). Also, I am not able to convey emotions in my songs. Impossible, it seems to me. Now, all I want to know is HOW to compose beautiful tunes (not complete songs) that can convey the right emotions (sadness, funny, etc.) Is there a connection between scales and emotions? Or, are there any basic techniques to build tunes that are good to hear? Are there any secrets in it? Please help me.

Also, I would like to know if any music course in Trinity Music College, London or ABRSM.co.uk be of help to me in my endeavour. If so, please specify the name of the course (I couldn\'t decide myself because of the so many courses they offer).

Please help me. You are my only hope. You can mail me at: robbiestanford007@hotmail.com

Re: How to compose "tunes"? Please help ...

You\'ve only been playing for three years... so don\'t feel bad if your music sounds amateurish!

Now, all I want to know is HOW to compose beautiful tunes
    <font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">Listen to Beethoven and Mozart! Lots of Beethoven and Mozart!

Is there a connection between scales and emotions?
    <font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">These are good rules to start with:

Minor = Sad
    Major = Happy
    Mode = Either

Or, are there any basic techniques to build tunes that are good to hear?