• Register
  • Help

Topic: Need scoring advice!

Need scoring advice!

sponsored links

Hi everyone, I\'m new to this board. I\'m a musician and I just got my first scoring job for a very short subject film, however I have no experience using a computer to compose. I\'ve tried researching on the internet but am still totally confused by sequencers, samplers, etc. Can someone just tell me plainly and simply what I need in terms of software and hardware?

What I need to do is write to picture from my synth, and through whatever process, the end result should be a professional sounding orchestral mock-up, completely notated. I know it can be done and I\'ve heard the awesome samples on the Vienna Strings and Advanced Orchestra websites, it\'s just that no one ever tells what the process is to get there.

I\'m not interested in being a MIDI tech guru, I just want to concentrate on writing the music. Any info would be really helpful. Thanks.

Re: Need scoring advice!

I\'m totally with Simon...

Nevertheless, here are some ideas. The best way to go, is to focus on the several steps until the result. Each step may need additional gear.

1. Composing and orchestration
    I don\'t know what are your composing and orchestrating skills, but of course, reading some books about orchestration will not warm you. From the gear point of view, you will need a keyboard (maybe a synth), a computer, a midi interface, and a sequencer software (like cubase SX or similar).

2. Mock-up