• Register
  • Help

Topic: A question about audio mixing for a film to DVD project...

Share/Bookmark

A question about audio mixing for a film to DVD project...

sponsored links

***Advertisments***
    I recently finished a film project edited in Vegas which I then imported a 48khz 24 bit wav file, which was music exported out of cubase sx. My problem is that the audio sounds fine on my computer after I render the project to DVD mpeg-2 standards and even when watching the DVD on my PC. But, when I play the DVD on a home consumer player the audio is really faint. I end up having to turn the TV volume all the way up and still have a low signal.

Now, I am still a novice at audio engineering and obviously that subject could take up many books, I just need some advice from someone about DVD audio encoding setup. I followed the NTSC DVD Architect template in Vegas for rendering the project and included the audio in the render but when I load the rendered project into DVD Architect it says it has to compress the audio. I thought the audio I was using was compatible and didn\'t need to be compressed?

Also, I am not exactly sure what if any processing I need to add to the music track. Actually for this project all it has is music for the audio, no dialog or sound effects. Should I run compression on the audio? What level should I mix at? And any other adice for mixing to DVD would be really appreciated.

Thanks,

Edward Trevino

Re: A question about audio mixing for a film to DVD project...

I\'m not a Vegas owner, but I have a couple thoughts.

First, about the compression conundrum. \"Compression\" I think refers to essentially re-encoding the audio to a format that a DVD player can read. That may be what DVD Architect is doing.

As for the audio level problem, I\'m wondering about a possible problem with stereo vs. surround mixing. I don\'t know. Are you running regular stereo sound on both the computer and the consumer DVD playback?
    O.