• Register
  • Help

Topic: New Giga user (maybe?)

Share/Bookmark

New Giga user (maybe?)

Hi there.

First things first, let me introduce myself.

I am a composer and sound engineer living in germany, doing quite a few tv documentaries and have grown my own studio over the last 10 or so years. I am quite familiar with E-Mu and Akai samplers, with Logic Audio and a bunch of other soft- and hardware.

As i realize that just buying one more E-Mu only will postpone my repeatedly-hitting-the-RAM-wall-problem, i am currently looking into Gigastudio.
    I intend to set this up on a separate PC which will be in the other room, remote controlled from Logic Audio running on a Mac G3.

The main feature of GS for me would be the sample streaming from disk, obviously, mostly beneficial for todays huge orchestral sample libraries.

If there\'s reverb and stuff built in, then why not (i know it is), but i couldn\'t care less if the reverb doesn\'t cut it, i got plenty of that in hardware. I want to use this as just
    another (big) module, with as little fiddling on the machine itself as possible. While i realize that there actually *is* quite some fiddling involved to set this all up
    properly, i want it to run as transparently as possible from there on.

The GS machine should run 4 to 8 real analog outputs with further 4 analog outputs acting as MIDI remotable (and programmable) Aux Sends to be connected to my hardware fx thru my mixing board. I lured the poor guy in the shop today into repatching his demo system to see if the built in audio mixer\'s aux sends can be routed to a physical output. We achieved this quick and dirty by simply setting the reverb unit to Bypass and route its outputs to a physical output.

1. The guy in the shop told me they are only licensed to ship their PCs with Windows ME. Is this ok or should i take the long road and reinstall everything after downgrading to Win98 ? 2000 ? MS-DOS2.0 (haha only serious ) ?