• Register
  • Help

Topic: Is Giga and Garritan Strings for Me?

Is Giga and Garritan Strings for Me?

I am a Christian singer/song writer and have recently began to acquire my own recording equipment to self produce my music.

My conservative style of music calls for piano, guitar, and orchestral sounds.

I am new to the midi/sampler world and am trying to wade through all of the info out here on the net so I can make an informed decision before I buy.

Here\'s what I have pieced together:
    Since I am mac based and working with protools I can use a windows system running gigastudio and connect via midi & light pipe I/O. Using the giga basically as a sampler on steroids running from my midi source with the light pipe returning the audio back to protools.

My specific questions are:
    1. Where can I find a good price on a Giga system?

2. Should I build my own giga system? If so, how should it be built?

3. The Garritan advanced sample set is the best to be found so I would really like to purchase it. However, it sounds as though you have to virtually have a masters degree in music to make it sound great. What I need to know is if I can being a beginner use the samples with out getting into all of the massive programing and editing and it still sound good? In other words, there dedicated samplers on the market that can be had for a few thousand buck that basically interface with my midi device and I assign the voices I want and its done. The problem is that they sound fake!!!! And Garritan\'s sound awesome. So, can I do the same basic thing of assigning instruments and be pleased?

I am not a big time recording artist, however, I and my listeners have come to expect a high quality sound and Garritan\'s Strings are great.

Thank you in advance for your help.

P.S. If the techno lingo gets to heavy you might lose me. I have been a video editor on Avid and Final Cut Pro for years and I am computer and video savy...not music/audio equipment and midi savy!