• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Giga laptops, turnkey systems?

Giga laptops, turnkey systems?

I am looking to make my Giga abilities mobile! I am a solo pianist, in need of nothing but a couple of outputs. Can anyone recommend a laptop system that is reliable, or better yet someone who puts such systems together to save me the frustration & the time? Appreciate any help!

Re: Giga laptops, turnkey systems?

Pianojoe-My Dell Inspiron 8200 has been very reliable with the 5400 system drive option a WD 8meg cache 80 gig drive in a Granite Digital case and a RME Multiface. It\'s a 1.7 P4 and I would advise to go bigger, if it\'s available, especially if you plan to use Halion or other VSTi\'s. I got 512megs of ram and expanded it to 768. 1 gig is max at about $200.00 bucks per 512.

Anyway it has worked perfectly and installing the ram was the only tricky part-you could by a firewire drive already in case from Glyph or Pacific Pro Audio, if you don\'t want to do it yourself. The single firewire out on the Dell is a 4 pin, so you would need a 4 to 6 adapter cord.

I also bought an Echo Indigo, and it works fine for just playing in stereo as you will probably do.

You can tweak the XP operating system and remove
    unnecessary programs, but you can\'t do a clean install unless you have your own copy of Windows-Dell only includes a restore version.

If you don\'t mind a little heft and you\'ve got the bread-buy a \"desktop replacement\" from Alienware or Prostar. They have have full sized(not the mobile version)Pentium 4 chips that go up to over 2.5 ghz.

Good Luck.....Roger B.

Hi Joe, Roger