• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Can RME Multiface route outputs to inputs (internally)?

Can RME Multiface route outputs to inputs (internally)?

Hi all,

If I install an RME Multiface in a PC running GigaStudio and Logic, would it be possible to use a number of stereo outs from GigaStudio and route them into the Logic audio mixer internally, without using external loopback cabling?

I have no experience (yet) with lightpipes. Maybe it is actually simple to pull back digital out into the RME?

Re: Can RME Multiface route outputs to inputs (internally)?

Hi Peter

As far as I can tell it is not possible to route outputs to inputs internally within the Hammerfall DSP Mixer. I looked in the manual and again I couldn\'t find any mention of this type of routing I\'m afraid.

You need to be very carefull routing outputs to inputs on the same device, especially digitally. It would be very easy to set up a digital clock feedback loop or a speaker destroying audio loop if you messed up some routing and connected an output to an input that was routed to the same output (I think that made sense!!!)

Dave Marsden

Hi Dave, thanks.

Yup, that\'s clear. A loopback trick is of course very risky.
    I currently have my analog Echo card via an external mixer back into the input channels; as long as you don\'t mess with the soft mixer console, this works fine.
    Doing this digitally is of course a completely different story...

I have routed my Multiface and it works fine here with Cubase SX and Gigastudio.
    I just used the little light pipe cable I got with it and connected it with the ADAT in to out.
    Make sure the \"Clock Mode\" is set to Master.