• Register
  • Help

Topic: Advice on Reverb and Reverb Units

Advice on Reverb and Reverb Units

I\'d like some advice on how I can get a good reverb effect. I am not happy with the Gigastudio NFX. Perhaps I have not experimented with the settings enough. I think I\'m biased because I\'ve owned a Kurzweil 2500 sampler for several years and I have grown very fond of some of its reverb effects (i.e. the K2500\'s KDFX internal effects unit. For those who have the KDFX, I think the reverb in the Studio 85 setting is excellent.)

I have been using Gigastudio for about 7 or 8 months. Occasionally, I compare recordings I\'ve made on my k2500 to recordings I\'ve made on Gigastudio. The Kurzweil has very clean reverb and I cannot get the Gigastudio reverb to approach this quality. My Gigastudio recordings seem duller.

I switched from a k2500 to Gigastudio primarily for the polyphony and for the new sound libraries that are being produced (e.g. Garritan Strings, Dan Dean series, etc.) and I enjoy these benefits, but I would like some suggestions on reverb units, reverb plug ins (if any work with Gigastudio) or any other suggestions. Perhaps there are some settings and adjustments with which I can tweak the NFX.

Would I fare better with a dedicated Reverb unit like a TC M2000? (I don\'t think I could afford a Lexicon PCM81 or 91.) Does anyone work with any of these units? What are the benefits of a stand alone reverb unit?

I am primarily interested in reverb. I don\'t use many other effects at all. I work primarily with samples of acoustic instruments.

I have a Pentium 4, 1.4, 1 gig of ram, 2 hard drives (40 + 80 gig at 7200 rpm), Echo Gina24, Windows 2000 and I sequence with Cakewalk Home Studio (an old version).

I\'d appreciate any informed opinions.

Re: Advice on Reverb and Reverb Units

Hi Marko,