• Register
  • Help

Topic: GS in a Pro Tools Mix environment

GS in a Pro Tools Mix environment

Hi all,

This is my first time to the forum. After hearing the Garritan Orchestral Strings I\'ve decided to pursue adding GS and Garritan to my studio arsenal. I\'m in the process of designing a dedicated GS system and was wondering if there is anyone else out here that is currently using GS in a Digidesign Pro Tools Mix environment?

Specifically, I’m interested in how you bring the audio into the PT environment (example: via 888/24), if you are using the Digidesign sequencer or another, and which sound card and Midi interface you would suggest for integrating with a Pro Tools studio?

There are so many soundcard and Midi Interface options to choose from it’s a bit overwhelming determining which ones have proven themselves as being resilient and would meet the needs in a professional PT environment.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Re: GS in a Pro Tools Mix environment

Hello DJ,

There are a few options for you with moderate to expensive solutions, depending on your budget and audio quality requirements. With the Digi 888/24 on your Pro Tools rig, you\'ll need to interface it directly with AES/EBU or analog.

If you use the analog I/O on the 888/24, you\'ll need to have an 8 in/8 out analog interface on the Giga machine as well. Here are a few of those that do the job well:

Midiman Delta 1010
    Echo Layla24
    RME Multiface

If you want to avoid all that AD/DA by going digital, you\'ll need something like one of the following scenarios:

1. Use an Digi ADAT bridge on the 888/24 to convert AES/EBU to lightpipe. Then connect to a lightpipe card, such as an RME Hammerfall or Frontier Design WaveCenter PCI or Dakota card on the Giga machine.

B. Use a device like the ADI8-DD (RME Audio) on the Giga machine to receive AES/EBU directly from the 888/24.