• Register
  • Help

Topic: Kindly Help My Decision Process?

Kindly Help My Decision Process?

Finally entering into the sample world wholeheartedly, and would like to rid myself of hardware samplers/sound modules.
    I am trying to make a decision on which string library/full orchestra to purchase.
    Narrowed it down to VSL Opus 1, Sonic Implants, EW/QL SO (Silver or Gold), would even consider Advanced Orchestra set Extended by Peter Siedlaczek, GPO, and poss open to others.
    I am a film composer who doesn\'t usually need to produce a finished product from my rig, since I usually have the luxury and desire to use real players, but I need eminently satisfying sounds for inspiration as well as for doing great sounding mock-ups for directors and producers. What is also important to me is that I can accomplish this with a minimum of fuss and tweaking, relatively speaking. (Simple, easy and good, impossible?)
    I have read many posts from different areas and there seems to be problems with most, ie:compatibility, bugs, system capacities etc.
    My system:
    MAC G4 Dual 1.25g, 1g RAM (can upgrade to 2g), 2 int HD\'s, 1 firewire HD, MOTU 2408 mkII & MIDI Timepiece, Logic Pro/EXS24 mkII.
    I also need to have the same system running on a powerbook G4 w/similar config.

Re: Kindly Help My Decision Process?

If you don\'t want fuss, and you\'re not critical about pulling off total realism, you might like GPO, simply because it\'s soooooooooo easy to use. You could probably get more realism out of EWSO, and if it runs with Kompakt (I think it does) it would be almost as easy to use as GPO. With any of the big libraries you\'re going to have to expect to load most articulations to their own channels, or deal with key-switching (changing articulations by designating certain keys on your controller to switch between articulations). If that already seems too involved, I\'d just get GPO.