• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Bach's Double Violin Concerto - Richard Smith

Orcas Island

Bach\'s Double Violin Concerto - Richard Smith

Here is a demo of Bach\'s Double Violin Concerto performed and arranged by Richard Smith. This is quite an undertaking as the piece is over 16 minutes in length (15MB download)

Richard did this peice using GPO with Sibelius, Sonar and Sonitus FX reverb.

The double concerto was written circa 1720 and can still be difficult for violinists today. An suggestions for improvement are welcome.

Outstanding job Richard! This was a treat for a Bach aficionadi. Thanks for sending this.

Gary Garritan

Re: Bach\'s Double Violin Concerto - Richard Smith

This is very beautiful .. im almost falling asleep on my on my keyboard .. Zzz lovely

improvements? im no expert at this, but sometimes it feels like some strings go / and then suddenly |. Kinda lika a gunshot backwards

Once again.. Lovely!

Are you serious, Gary? Is this a kind of preview tune? And the rest of the envelopes we may hear when we get an update - even with included bow attacks then....?

UK- teeming with life....

Terrific effort. When you say he wrote it around 17:20 is that Eastern time.....ie. just before tea? How he did this in 16minutes beats me.

Very impressed

I love this music and the rendition. Can you tell us more about how it\'s done, the instruments used e.g.? There is NO WAY it was done in 16 minutes though, even if he used multiple MIDI keyboards, playing with both hands and feet! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
    Thanks in advance,

Pretty good.

I was trying to figure out what I was missing. Somehow the sound was too smooth. Ah! The continuo. Didn\'t the score have a figured bass? Anything up to and including CPE Bach had a continuo.

Also I think that the cello line should be doubled by a double bass.

The solo violins should be center stage, not panned left.