• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Anyone with VSL Pro Strings...AND QLSO?

Share/Bookmark

Anyone with VSL Pro Strings...AND QLSO?

If anyone out there has good experience with both of these libraries, pertaining to the strings....I would really appreciate some input on what you feel, if anything, VSL Strings can do that QLSO can\'t. I use QLSO Gold and love it, but have run up against things which I haven\'t been able to do, either from inexperience with library, or its own limitations. I have no experience with VSL other than the demos I\'ve heard, and I\'d like to know whether VSL offers more in the way of realism when doing very fast, active passages, such as fast 16th note figures that continue for many bars, etc.

Thanks for any feedback.

Re: Anyone with VSL Pro Strings...AND QLSO?

Hi Tom,

I own EWQLSO Gold Edition and VSL First Edition. Each have their strengths and whatever one isn\'t able to pull off adequately the other one can. Some believe they cannot be integrated or should be - I disagree.

VSL has a pretty extensive demo mp3 line up on their site - several spotlighting the strings and articulations. Some of the Mozart stuff there pulls off the 16th note arpeggios quite well. The performance tool is helpful for you can program it to use a different velocity as well as either up/down alternation and legato. You can slide notes into the next note which makes for some really sweet string sessions in your mixes. Coupled with the dynamic strength of EWQLSO Gold you could have quite a formidable arsenal at your beck and call.

VSL needs a little more time at mixdown than EWQLSO. At times I put a bit of EQ boost or cut on VSL and a tad of Altiverb to get it to blend with the hall and instruments presented in QLSO Gold. I add a little of the same Altiverb on EWQLSO Gold but far less wet. It works for me.

Best,

~Frederick

Thanks so much for your info.